Stock photo from Fauxels via Pexels

DEI at the Genome Center

The field of biological sciences has a persistent lack of diversity. When science lacks the equal participation of all members in society, it limits the opportunities available for individuals from all backgrounds, and the field of biological sciences suffers from the lack of inclusion of different perspectives that would enhance our knowledge of the living world (Berhe et al. 2021).

DEI Resources at UCD

Visit this link to see DEI resources available at UC Davis.

The Genome Center’s Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Task Force aims to monitor and improve the workplace climate at the Genome Center by diminishing the barriers to equity in the center. The Genome Center’s DEI Task Force will promote historically excluded populations who are currently underrepresented in omics. The DEI Task Force will also work to improve the accessibility of the center.

The UC Davis Genome Center’s DEI Task Force began with an inquiry into the experiences and interests of Genome Center members. The creation of a DEI Task Force was fully supported, includes individuals from all positions, and held its first meeting on October 20, 2021.

Co-chairs: Nicole Coggins (Postdoc) and Laura Fejerman (Faculty).

Quorum Members: 
Jeannette MartinsStaff (Fiehn)
Beth RowanAssoc Proj Sci (Michelmore)
Nicole CogginsPost-doc (Carvajal)
Laura FejermanFaculty
Arpana VaniyaStaff (Fiehn)
Justin MyrickField Mgr (Henn)
Dave SegalFaculty
Charlotte AcharyaSRA (Michelmore and Covid-19)
John McPhersonFaculty
Mohan Prem Anand MarimuthuSpecialist
Gulhan KayaLab Manager, Associate Specialist
Volunteer Members: 
Concepcion ManzanoAssistant project scientist
Janine M LaSalleFaculty
Michelle BeldenStaff (GC)
Gabriela GrigoreanAssoc Proj. Sci (Proteomics)
Valentina Andrea Zavala CorderoPost-doc
Ian KorfFaculty
Daniel FernandezJunior Specialist
Christina KimAssistant Professor
Past DEI Committee Members: 
Savithramma Dinesh-Kumar Faculty
Eesha GupteStaff
Jannie XuStudent research assistant
Elizabeth Marie GeorgianEditor (GC)
Siobhan Brady Faculty 
Aarthi SekarGrad Student (Dennis)
Megan DennisFaculty
Caidon Ijeoma IwuagwuRA (Facciotti)
Mary Aina4th Year Undergraduate

Previous Co-Chairs:

  • Dave Segal (Faculty) | Inagural Co-Chair, 10/2021 - 02/2024
  • Caidon Ijeoma Iwuagwu (RA) | Inagural Co-Chair, 11/2021 - 03/2022
  • Arpana Vaniya (Staff) | 03/2022 - 02/2024

Please reach out to the GC's DEI Task Force to learn more or share ideas to make the GC more inclusive.